Published: August 2, 2017

Theta Chi Announces Final Round of 2016/2017 Alter Award Recipients

Bloomington, IN – Theta Chi Fraternity is excited to announce the final round of 2016/2017 recipients of the Howard R. Alter, Jr. Award for Chapter Excellence. Two chapters was recognized during the Nu Class of the Initiative Academy, held July 27-30, 2017 in Bloomington, Indiana.

Created by a group of former field staff in 1984 upon the occasion of Howard Alter’s retirement as Executive Director, the Alter Award was first presented in 1986 to chapters that met or exceeded the Fraternity’s standards of excellence.

The Alter Award is Theta Chi’s highest chapter honor and is traditionally presented at the Fraternity’s summer event. Consideration for the Alter Award is by application only. Applicant chapters are evaluated based on their performance in 14 categories, including recruitment, scholarship programming, risk management practices, and member and new member education. The Alter Award may only be presented to active chapters.


  • Beta Delta/Rutgers University
  • Iota Beta/Missouri State University

Iota Beta/Missouri State and Beta Delta/Rutgers are presented with their Alter Awards. They are pictured with Executive Director Mike Mayer and International Historian Brad Burk.

Three chapters received the Chapter Achievement Award during the awards ceremony. This award recognizes and encourages chapters that apply for the Alter Award and demonstrate substantial success, progress, and improvement in chapter operations:

  • Delta Eta/Colorado State University
  • Zeta Lambda/Westminster College
  • Zeta Rho/University of Kentucky

Chapter Achievement Award recipients pictured with International Historian Brad Burk and Executive Director Mike Mayer

Three additional chapters were recognized with Chapter Excellence Awards for demonstrating strong performance in specific areas of chapter operations:

  • Alpha Mu/Iowa State University
  • Alpha Pi/University of Minnesota
  • Iota Mu/University of Missouri

 Chapter Excellence Award recipients pictured with International Historian Brad Burk and Executive Director Mike Mayer

We offer our enthusiastic congratulations to all recipients and urge all chapters to apply for chapter awards next year. The deadline will be April 10, 2018.

Founded in 1856, Theta Chi Fraternity is a men’s collegiate fraternity with more than 185,000 initiated members and has established 235 chapters. Leadership development, personal development, and service to alma mater are fundamental to Theta Chi Fraternity’s mission.