Published: July 24, 2020

Four Chapters Take Home 2019/2020 Alter Award

Carmel, IN – Theta Chi Fraternity is excited to announce the 2019/2020 recipients of the Howard R. Alter, Jr. Award for Chapter Excellence. Four chapters were recognized during the online chapter awards ceremony as part of the modified 164th Anniversary Convention schedule.

Created by a group of former field staff in 1984 upon the occasion of Howard Alter’s retirement as Executive Director, the Alter Award was first presented in 1986 to chapters that met or exceeded the Fraternity’s standards of excellence.

The Alter Award is Theta Chi's highest chapter honor and is traditionally presented at the Fraternity’s summer event. Consideration for the Alter Award is by application only. Applicant chapters are evaluated based on their performance in 14 categories, including recruitment, scholarship programming, risk management practices, member and new member education and others. The Alter Award may only be presented to active chapters.


  • Gamma Phi/Nebraska Wesleyan
  • Epsilon Kappa/Idaho
  • Iota Lambda/Longwood
  • Kappa Zeta/Arkansas

For 2019/2020, 12 chapters received the Chapter Achievement Award. This award recognizes and encourages chapters that apply for the Alter Award and demonstrate substantial success, progress, and improvement in chapter operations:


  • Tau/Florida
  • Phi/North Dakota State
  • Chi/Auburn
  • Alpha Lambda/Ohio State
  • Alpha Nu/Georgia Tech
  • Alpha Phi/Alabama
  • Gamma Tau/Drake
  • Zeta Rho/Kentucky
  • Zeta Sigma/Wisconsin-River Falls
  • Zeta Tau/Michigan-Flint
  • Eta Phi/Oakland
  • Iota Beta/Missouri State

Twenty-four additional chapters were recognized with Chapter Excellence Awards for demonstrating strong performance in specific areas of chapter operations:


  • Zeta/New Hampshire
  • Mu/California
  • Rho/Illinois
  • Alpha Delta/Purdue
  • Alpha Mu/Iowa State
  • Alpha Pi/Minnesota
  • Beta Sigma/Lehigh
  • Beta Phi/Nevada
  • Gamma Delta/Florida Southern
  • Gamma Upsilon/Bradley
  • Delta Mu/Texas
  • Delta Omega/Ripon
  • Epsilon Psi/NJIT
  • Zeta Beta/Adrian
  • Zeta Lambda/Westminster
  • Zeta Xi/UC-Davis
  • Eta Gamma/Morehead State
  • Eta Psi/UAB
  • Theta Eta/Sam Houston State
  • Iota Theta/Central Florida
  • Iota Mu/Missouri
  • Iota Sigma/Towson
  • Iota Upsilon/Texas State
  • Iota Psi/RIT

The Most Improved Chapter Award recognizes the chapter that has made significant developments over the last year. Past recipients of this award have made tremendous improvements in membership size, scholarship programming, and chapter operations while living up to the tenets of our Fraternity Creed and motto every day.

• Gamma Delta/Florida Southern

Founded in 1856, Theta Chi Fraternity is a men’s collegiate fraternity with more than 191,000 initiated members and has established 243 chapters. Leadership development, personal development, and service to alma mater are fundamental to Theta Chi Fraternity’s mission.