Published: July 31, 2020

Twenty-Three Chapters Recognized for Recruitment Excellence

Carmel, IN - Theta Chi is pleased to announce the 2019/2020 recruitment award recipients. The James M. Holland, Phil S. Randall, and Henry B. Hersey awards were created to recognize and honor the Fraternity’s top recruiting chapters for the previous academic year. Winners were determined based on the total number of newly initiated members according to International Headquarters records between May 15, 2019 and May 15, 2020. All active chapters are eligible for consideration for one or more of these honors.

Theta Chi Fraternity's recruitment awards are named in honor of the collegiate members who saved the Fraternity from extinction. In 1881, Theta Chi found itself with one collegiate member, James Michael Holland. Holland did not quit, but struggled to find a solution. Fortunately for Theta Chi, one new cadet, Phil S. Randall, felt strongly that Theta Chi was worth saving. Randall convinced his friend Henry B. Hersey that they should become members of Theta Chi. Randall and Hersey approached Holland to join Theta Chi, and he agreed to initiate the two cadets, enlisting the help of local alumni. Randall and Hersey were initiated on Nov. 19, 1881, saving Theta Chi at Norwich University, and securing the future of the entire Fraternity.

Today, the Holland, Randall, and Hersey Awards recognize the recruitment efforts of Theta Chi chapters and their dedication to maintain and preserve Theta Chi Fraternity for the generations of brothers to come. 

James M. Holland, Phil S. Randall, and Henry B. Hersey

James M. Holland Award – Presented to the chapter that initiates the most men:

Winner: Iota Beta/Missouri State – 51 initiates
First Runner-Up (tie): Alpha Phi/Alabama and Gamma Rho/Florida State – 49 initiates

Phil S. Randall Success in Recruitment Award – Presented to chapters that initiate 25 or more men during the previous academic year. Twenty-one chapters were recognized with the Randall Award:

Beta Rho/Illinois Wesleyan - 25 initiates
Zeta/New Hampshire - 26 initiates
Iota Phi/South Carolina - 26 initiates
Alpha Delta/Purdue - 27 initiates
Alpha Iota/Indiana - 27 initiates
Zeta Rho/Kentucky - 27 initiates
Beta Zeta/Michigan State - 28 initiates
Eta Lambda/Virginia Tech - 28 initiates
Alpha Sigma/Oregon - 29 initiates
Psi/Wisconsin - 30 initiates
Beta Alpha/UCLA - 30 initiates
Iota Theta/Central Florida - 30 initiates
Kappa Lambda/CSU-San Marcos - 30 initiates
Gamma Kappa/Miami (OH) - 35 initiates
Zeta Phi/Cal Poly - 36 initiates
Iota Mu/Missouri - 36 initiates
Tau/Florida - 40 initiates
Chi/Auburn - 48 initiates
Alpha Phi/Alabama - 49 initiates
Gamma Rho/Florida State - 49 initiates
Iota Beta/Missouri State - 51 initiates

Henry B. Hersey Significant Increase in Membership Award – Presented to chapters that have the highest membership percent increase from the previous year.

Winner: Eta Nu/Alma – 283% increase!
Honorable Mention: Eta Lambda/Virginia Tech – 183% increase
Honorable Mention: Eta Omicron/Northwestern State – 240% increase

Founded in 1856, Theta Chi Fraternity is a men’s collegiate fraternity with more than 191,000 initiated members and has established 243 chapters. Leadership development, personal development, and service to alma mater are fundamental to Theta Chi Fraternity’s mission.